Are We Simply Puppets In This World?

Puppet Master 3

This is probably going to be the most contentious thing I write, it’s totally off subject and something I normally wouldn’t talk about but, it’s a perpetual discussion I have with people. How is one supposed to have faith in someone they can’t physically see?

It’s said that God controls things that go on in the world but why would someone with that kind of power let certain things happen to people? I question my faith every day. Sometimes I feel like God and the devil are playing with our lives. Like we’re put in the middle of their foolishness and their quarrels and are used as puppets. It doesn’t mean that I don’t believe in God because I very much believe in God and the devil. I believe that they are both real otherwise what other explanation would there be as to how we got here and why things happen.

Faith and trust is the same thing. I have a hard time trusting people who I can see on a day-to-day basis let alone trusting or putting faith in someone who I cannot physically see at all. It’s tough. Why should I trust someone that lets me go through rough times and experience pain? I get the whole it makes you a stronger person and teaches you how to deal with difficult situations because trust me my life has been anything but easy, but why? I don’t go to church or read the bible as much as I used to in order to understand the word and my issue as far as that goes is most church goers are hypocritical. Most tell you what you’re not supposed to do, point the finger and preach AT you not TO you. I’m a visual learner, not only that but when someone tries to explain something to me I don’t just trust what they say and go on about my business. If it’s something I could care less about than obviously that’s totally different but, if you want me to understand your logic about something I need proof…facts. I need it to make sense to me.  Even if you make it believable and I walk away honestly believing you, I will still do my research. When I try to apply certain situations from the bible to everyday life or situations nowadays it just doesn’t make sense therefore some things I just can’t comprehend. I understand I should try to put myself in those times but I can’t do that completely because I wasn’t alive during that time period so my mind doesn’t relate. Maybe reading the bible more may help, it may not. Am I wrong for thinking this way?

Faith 2What I don’t understand is what Gods purpose in creating us is? I think about it this way. If I have some Lego’s, my objective is to build whatever type of setup my Lego’s are. Once my village, ship or whatever is built and I have the Lego people assembled I use them as my action figures or puppets and play with them. That is the conclusion. I build them to play with them. Sometimes I’m gentle other times I’m extremely rough on them. So what’s His purpose? Are we just something for them to control and play with? Again, I understand this may be a touchy subject for some but it seems to be a continuous conversation between friends and me. What are your opinions?

 

One thought on “Are We Simply Puppets In This World?

  1. Many people struggle with wrapping their human brains around the sovereignty of God. People say ,”God is in control” and it bothers me too at times. There were a few things I thought about when I read your blog and I wanted to share.
    1. Faith is defined in the Bible as “… the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.” Hebrews 11:1 (NLT) And to obtain faith, “Faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.” Romans 10:17 (NKJV)
    2. God’s sovereignty and control is inconceivable. I think about the book of Job and while we can learn a lot about God’s sovereignty, it is still difficult to walk away with any real understanding. But here’s what I do know: God created us to be free to make choices. Sometimes, we create our own messes. Other times, he allows circumstances to happen in our lives that are refining us. If you are familiar with the analogy of refining gold to purity, then you can relate our trials to this end.
    3. God has created us for his glory. But he does not want to puppeteer our lives. I mentioned before that he created us with an ability that no other part of creation has: the freedom of choosing between right and wrong. We can choose to use our talents, abilities, relationships, language, habits, hobbies, homes, cars… EVERYTHING He has given us is an avenue to glorify Him and recognize Him.
    4. Lastly, my very recent experience is that anytime I drift away from reading DAILY the Word of God and spending time with Him in conversation and prayer: these are opportunities that Satan will take advantage of. He will use your friends even to slide little whispers of doubt or confusion into your thoughts to disrupt you from furthering your relationship with God. When you do read the Bible, take into context the culture at the time it was written (I see you do that already). But also take some of the details and turn it to fit today’s culture. Don’t change the message, just apply it in a way you understand. A simple one is the story of the good Samaritan. Replace the broken and beaten man with someone or a “type” of person you have strong disregard for. Then, determine if you are more like the priest or temple assistant who everyone assumes is going to help the broken man but keeps on walking by. Or are you the one who really would help?
    I’ll leave you with this verse that helped me tremendously this week and I’ll never forget it. Jeremiah 17:7-8 says, “But blessed are those who trust in the Lord and have made the Lord their hope and confidence. They are like trees planted along a riverbank, with roots that reach deep into the water. Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought. Their leaves stay green and they never stop producing fruit.”
    Also, please know that no matter what church you go to, you are going to find hypocrites. If you are looking for a Christian who doesn’t sin, then you have a false sense of what a Christian is and you will always be disappointed. I promise you, I have my faults but the reality is, we all fall short of the glory of God. Even preachers, worship leaders, and even you and me. And that’s not intended as a jab but I think you and I both know it’s true for both of us and it motivates me to draw closer to God to build my confidence in Him.
    I hope this was helpful or at least provided some sort of insight you were needing. I would encourage you still to not give up on digging into the Word of God, and get into a church fellowship of believers.

Leave a Reply

